Timeneye just got better - Discover the new and improved version

Learn more about the newest Timeneye features and how to switch your workspace to the latest version smoothly

Sara Foschini
Written by Sara FoschiniLast update 5 days ago

This page is dedicated to all our long-standing clients who have been with Timeneye since its first version. We want to take this opportunity to express our gratitude for your loyalty and to let you know that Timeneye has grown and improved over the years.

We have worked hard to release new features, and we believe that you will find the new version intuitive and beneficial for collaborating with your team.

Our goal is to phase out the old version by December 31st, 2024, so we encourage you to take the upcoming months to explore the fresh layout and share your feedback with us.

As always, if you need any help or have questions, please don't hesitate to contact us.

To make the transition smoother, we have crafted this migration guide where you can find a comprehensive list of our latest features and practical advice on smoothly transitioning your Timeneye workspace from the old version to the new one.

The new Timeneye features

1) Enhanced Sidebar Functionality

The functions previously located in the top bar, such as the Register time button, the entries log, and the user profile, are now seamlessly integrated into the sleek blue sidebar for a more streamlined layout. This creates a more spacious and airy dashboard, allowing you to comfortably navigate your workspace even from smaller screens and inside MS Teams.

Additionally, you can now personalize your Timeneye navigation bar. As a manager, you have the opportunity to pin or unpin the Timeneye sections in the main menu, ensuring quick and convenient access to the features that matter most to you.

-> Learn more

2) Track your Tasks in Timeneye

In addition to tracking time for your projects and phases in Timeneye, now you can efficiently create, manage, and monitor the time spent on tasks within your projects. In fact, now you can easily manage deadlines and priorities by breaking your projects into smaller, manageable tasks.
While this new project management feature can be used independently, it is most effective when integrated with your existing tasks in MS To Do and MS Planner.
Elevate your productivity and effectiveness by staying ahead of your tasks!

-> Learn more

3) Keep track of your Expenses too

When working on projects and dealing with clients, it's important to remember that time is valuable, but it's not the only factor to consider. That's why we are excited to announce the addition of the highly-requested Expense tracking feature to Timeneye. With this new feature, you can easily input non-time related expenses which can be included in client invoices or used to reimburse employees who have incurred costs.

By integrating the expense tracking feature with billable hours and cost tracking, managers can effectively monitor project profitability. This means no more frustration over lost expenses and better control over project costs, leading to accurate measurement of profitability.

-> Learn more

4) Customize and share your productivity reports

Our report section has been completely updated! You can now create your own customized report by selecting from our range of templates and adjusting your time data with specific filters, including a new time frame picker and a rounding function. Our customizable widgets allow you to visualize your data in three layout options: table, pie chart, and area chart, ensuring that your report shows the exact information you need in a visually intuitive format.

Previously, Timeneye users could only schedule reports to their inboxes. Now, you can easily share scheduled reports with multiple recipients, both internally and externally, making collaboration simple.

-> Learn more

5) The new and improved tags section

In Timeneye, tags are crucial for accurately categorizing your time, boosting productivity, and maintaining organization in your time entries. Based on clients' feedback, exciting enhancements have been made. Finally, there is a dedicated section for tag lists and tags in your workspace, with the ability to archive and unarchive tag lists. In the latest version of Timeneye, you can link tag lists to specific projects and mark them as "required" to ensure all entries are properly tagged.

-> Learn more

F.A.Q.

Can I still use the old version of Timeneye?

You can access the old Timeneye version until December 31st, 2024 by clicking on the "Switch back to the old version" button in the blue sidebar. On that day, all users will be switched to the newest version. We recommend familiarizing yourself with the new layout in the coming months.

What happens to my data when I switch to the new version?

Rest assured, all your data and account settings remain unchanged.

However, you might notice a discrepancy in your financial information in reports because the hourly rates and the hourly costs are calculated in a different way. In fact, the main difference is that the latest version of Timeneye supports historical rates. This means that when you make changes to an hourly rate or an hourly cost, the updated rate will only apply to time entries tracked after the edit. 

-> Learn more

Do I have to pay for the new features?

Absolutely not! All the new features are still part of your plan.

Can I still access my old reports?

Yes, you can. In the reporting section, you will find a "Switch to old reports" button on the top right corner.

What if some of my coworkers roll back to the old version?

Initially, we will upgrade all the members in your Timeneye workspace to the latest version, but the option to roll back to the oldest version will be available until the 31st of December 2024. If someone decides to roll back, it's important to bear in mind that users of the old version will not have access to the new features. For instance, if you record an expense for a project, those using the old version won't be able to see it because that feature does not exist in their version of Timeneye.

Even if the two versions share some features, such as tags, they don't transfer the same information across. For example, in the new Timeneye, you can assign a tag list to a project and mark it as "required," but coworkers using the legacy version won't be able to see that.

How can I force the whole company to use the new version?

If you are an owner or an admin of your workspace and you want to force everybody to use to the new version of Timeneye, please contact us, and we will handle the migration for you.

Do I have to invite my teammates to join Timeneye again?

No, it's not necessary. The workspace users will be the same across both versions.

Why some data are different in the new version?

Switching from the old version of Timeneye to the new one, you might notice a discrepancy in your financial information in reports because the hourly rates and the hourly costs are calculated in a different way. In fact, the main difference is that the latest version of Timeneye supports historical rates. This means that when you make changes to an hourly rate or an hourly cost, the updated rate will only apply to time entries tracked after the edit. 

In this guide, we will show you how to make changes to historical data in case you want to have the exact same set of data in both reports. Also, to guarantee a smooth transition between the two versions, you will continue to have access to your old reports.

What can I do if I encounter problems when using the new version?

If you require any assistance, have questions, or wish to share your feedback, please don't hesitate to contact us.

Did this answer your question?